A retail phone conversation

Me:      Hi. Do you carry batiks?

Clerk:  Yes.

Me:      Great. I purchased a batik in another state and need more. It’s a tone-on-tone with a small floral print in a very light gray-green color on an antique white background. Do you have anything that might even remotely match that description?

Clerk:  We might (silence).

Me:      Is there any way you can check?

Clerk:  Not unless I have the name of the manufacturer or the item number.

And…this is why people shop online.

When a call like that came into the shop where I used to work, we would always go to the appropriate section of the shop to at least do a visual check for that customer. Not sure why the person I spoke with couldn’t be bothered to do the same, but no matter, I took my business elsewhere.

Here’s the batik I was looking for:

batik

I bought two yards of it last October when we went to Colorado for my niece’s wedding. It’s perfect for the neutral squares that go with these scrappy 9-patch blocks.

9-patch-batiks

2 Comments

Filed under fabric, piecing

2 responses to “A retail phone conversation

  1. A shame they didn’t suggest you sending a photo or sample of the batik. Your scrappy 9-Patch is so colorful!

    • I agree. I received more help from the shop where I bought it, even though they were out of the fabric and were not going to make another sale from it. But at least trying to help the way they did went a long way to strengthen my loyalty to that shop over the long term.

Leave a Reply

