Cross stitch planning

With the window coverings installed, John and I finally hung some pictures. It got me motivated to start working on the cross stitch piece in honor of my next milestone birthday in 2017. I stitched this sampler 20 years ago:

sampler

I stitched this design of a Baltimore Album quilt 10 years ago:

When I’m not making quilts, I’m cross stitching them!

When I’m not making quilts, I’m cross stitching them!

For 2017, I chose this:

It’s called And A Garden Grew, designed by Karen Kluba of Rosewood Manor. I found it online when hunting for a sampler project and fell instantly in love. It’s a large piece, with a stitch area of 18″ x 18″.

The recommended ground cloth for it is 32-count Belfast linen which has been hand dyed to achieve a mottled look:

Belfast linen

The pattern for it is contained in a 24-page booklet divided into 20 sections and calls for 121 unique floss colors—which is why I need to start it this year if there is any hope of finishing it next year.

One aspect of the design that I did not care for was the text:

Flowers are the sweetest things God ever made and forgot to put a soul into.

by Henry Ward Beecher.

I wanted a poem instead, and found this one written by 19th century English poet Thomas Hood.

‘Tis like the birthday of the world,

When earth was born in bloom;

The light is made of many dyes,

The air is all perfume:

There’s crimson buds, and white and blue,

The very rainbow showers

Have turned to blossoms where they fell,

And sown the earth with flowers.

Over the weekend, I spent time with a mechanical pencil, eraser, and 10-to-the-inch graph paper in an attempt to chart it, after searching through my cross stitch books and magazines for a suitable alphabet that would fit in the space both vertically and horizontally.

poem

Lines 5 and 7 were super long, so there was some serious kerning to do. I finally got them fitted into the space, although I will have to move or remove some of the bees, butterflies and other creatures in that section, which I’m okay with.

Last night I finished kerning the other 6 lines, which included modifying the descender on the letter f, dotting the letter i instead of using the slanted line, and looping the descender for the letter p in line 4.

poem revised

Can’t wait to start stitching!

1 Comment

Filed under cross stitch

One response to “Cross stitch planning

  1. Wow! That’s a lot of painstaking planning. Can’t wait to see the finished piece!

Leave a Reply

