Work, play, and a sewing room preview

A week after he was discharged from the hospital, John and I went to the house where he talked me through the installation of the shelves for the pantry and sewing room.

pantry

I did one closet in the sewing room and got two rows up in the pantry and then finished the rest by myself the next weekend.

sewing closet1

The shelves in the sewing room are for fabric and batting. They are only 8 inches deep, perfect for holding fabric wrapped on a bolt, which is how I store cuts equal to or greater than 2 yards. Most quilt shops are happy to give away empty bolts; all you need to do is ask.

sewing closet2

In the meantime, the mantel for the outdoor fireplace was installed

outdoor fireplace

and over the weekend I made time for some serious cross stitching. I stuffed my beanbag chair, cross stitch project and iPod into the car and unloaded them at the house. Upstairs in the front bedroom, the light is exceptional and I was amazed at how much progress I made.

cross stich1

cross stitch2

 

Leave a comment

Filed under cross stitch, house

Leave a Reply

