Working girl

Except for a three-year, part time gig at a local quilt store here in Colorado, I’ve been absent from the workforce for 21 years. But now I’m back and loving it–I’ve been hired as the part time admin for John’s new company. I’ll be supporting the four founders plus two executive directors. In addition to all the legal, financial, tech, office space, recruiting stuff required to launch a new company (as if that’s not enough) there are easily hundreds of tasks that crop up during a start-up that are perfect for an admin—like me!

I applied for the job entirely on my own by sending a resume and cover letter to the CEO. He called two days later to ask what I had in mind. Later, he met with the other founders, first without John, then with him, and the decision was made that I could come aboard.

Until last week, I had done a few things remotely, mostly editing and proofreading the text for the new website. Last week was my first week at the office and there was plenty to do.

While in Houston, I learned:

  • it takes less than 10 minutes to drive to work, and about three minutes to drive home.
  • the demolition of the house on our lot is scheduled for next week.
Over the weekend, Habitat for Humanity came and took everything salvageable out of the existing house. Rhonda happened to drive by as they were working, stopped and went in (something we never did). She said it was a dump, except for the parquet floors in the kitchen.

Over the weekend, Habitat for Humanity came and took everything salvageable out of the existing house. Rhonda happened to drive by as they were working, stopped and went in (something we never did). She said it was a dump, except for the parquet floors in the kitchen.

  • how to make dinner reservations for six at a restaurant in Manhattan (it’s weirder than you think).
  • how to navigate the parking garage without running into a dead end.
  • United Airlines has the most customer-hostile website I’ve ever used.
  • how to use the new company’s PowerPoint template.
  • I desperately need to find a chair designed for a short person.
  • how to find well files and print well reports.
  • how and where to load the printer tray for legal sized paper.
  • wearing dress shoes again will take some getting used to.
  • the skimmer in our pool gets stuck on the stairs.
Poolbot.

Poolbot.

While in Houston, I got:

  • a key to the office.
  • a work email address.
  • a few new clothes for work.

office clothes

To celebrate my birthday and new job, Rhonda gave me this cute, insulated cup:

insulated cup 

All we need to do now is sell our house and move—maybe not in that order.

Leave a comment

Filed under miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

