Patchwork progress

Lately, I haven’t posted all that frequently, but I have been working on quilting projects, in between house cleaning, tending to a high school senior and baking for Eric. If you’ve been following the story of Eric’s Christmas packages, they finally arrived in Afghanistan after Christmas. Meanwhile, in response to my request for an update on their delivery status, the post office emailed me a link to their customer service survey with a request to fill it out.

Huh?

Three or four days later, I finally received a form letter in my inbox explaining that mail for overseas military members goes into a ginormous black hole so no one can be accountable—well, that clears things up nicely, doesn’t it?

box1

We packed two more boxes of snacks and other items to send, hoping that now that the Christmas rush is over, it will take less time for them to reach their destination—why did I just say that after what I wrote in the first paragraph above? I suppose my head needs examining now.

One of the boxes has four loaves of quick bread: two apple, two pumpkin, which I hope Eric will share with his maties (I know that’s not a word, but it sounds cute, so I’m going with it).

box2

At our TSA meeting on Tuesday, I finished stitching the binding onto my Christmas tree table runner:

table-runner2

I increased the amount of quilting on the tree trunks, and I think they look much better with more.

I increased the amount of quilting on the tree trunks, and I think they look much better with more.

I completed two more sets of rows on my scrappy 1930s quilt. I really, really like the way it looks but don’t think I’ll take on another one of this kind.

scrappy 30s progress

You sew and sew and sew to get your 4-patch, you sew and sew and sew to get your 6-patch, then you sew and sew and sew to put bunches of them together and four hours later you have a row. Then you get to pin match 30-plus seams and sew some more and hope this doesn’t happen:

mistake

2 Comments

Filed under binding, Christmas, piecing, quilting

2 responses to “Patchwork progress

  1. So lovely! 🙂
    Greetings from Finland!
    Hugs, Ulla

Leave a Reply

