Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas! I hope you happily spent your day with people you love and care about.

It was pretty quiet around our house today. We’re glad Ross was here, but Eric is halfway across the world in Afghanistan and we were sad that he was not with us.

Christmas 1997. First wagon, from Grandpa and Grandma.

Christmas 1997. First wagon, from Grandpa and Grandma.

We are also monumentally peeved that he did not receive the packages we mailed to him three weeks ago and are beginning to believe that he will never get them. The USPS tracking database says the last scan was ten days ago on the 15th when they left Chicago, so they should’ve gotten there already. We now have a USPS case number because we don’t think it’s too much to ask for Eric to get his stuff.

Thirty-one years ago, my husband married a very practical girl. I’m one who just doesn’t understand the “he didn’t give me anything personal” complaint. I don’t much care for jewelry, dislike perfume, and prefer to pick out my own clothes.  So you can imagine my thrill when I unwrapped this today:

rapid boil pot1

rapid boil pot2

It’s a high performance, rapid boil stainless steel pot with a removable insert.

rapid boil pot3

Its base has fins

rapid boil pot4

which decrease heat-up time by up to 40 percent. Bottom line, stuff boils faster, reducing your time in the kitchen—something I’m all for these days. I love it and couldn’t be more pleased. Thanks, honey!

In the meantime, this week, I managed to sneak a few minutes between a tiny bit of shopping, wrapping gifts, cooking and baking to get a little sewing done. I’m trying to stick to my plan to make 10 Aunt Grace snowball blocks per weeks, and so far, so good:

AG blocks

Leave a comment

Filed under Christmas, kids, piecing

Leave a Reply

