A handmade Christmas, continued

Yesterday, I showed you all my handmade Christmas tree decorations, so today I want to show you some of the ornaments friends have made for me over the years.

My absolute favorite is the little stocking (upper left), although I'm still waiting for the other two color versions, hint, hint!

My absolute favorite is the little stocking (upper left), although I’m still waiting for the other two color versions, hint, hint!

To fill the lower branches of our tree I made one dozen tartan plaid bows. They are tied to the tree with green floral wire.

plaid bow

Occupying space on the remaining lower branches are three of these, currently needing some TLC:

bird nest

Perched at the top of the tree is a large red velvet florist’s bow.

red bow

The tree skirt was made from a kit purchased at a local craft store. It required appliqué, a tiny bit of machine sewing and hot gluing skills. I’m surprised it’s lasted as long as it has.

tree skirt

Here is the tree, all finished:

tree1

tree2

1 Comment

Filed under Christmas

One response to “A handmade Christmas, continued

  1. Rhonda

    Well – I guess I better start sewing some little stockings. I have not made my versions of these yet either. Maybe, just maybe I will have then done when you visit again.

    I miss seeing your tree in person, it was the inspiration for my tree but I have a way to go to catch up with yours.

Leave a Reply

