Sweater quilt: designing

One thing I neglected to mention yesterday was that I rejected one of the sweaters in my inventory: a super stretchy cable knit:

cable sweater

I felt it would give me a world of trouble if I was to incorporate it into the quilt, so I ended up using 15 sweaters total.

Q: How do you figure out the design?

A: It’s whatever you want it to be!

Factors that go into designing your sweater quilt include

  • the number of sweaters you have
  • the look you’re after
  • how simple or complex you want the design to be
  • how you want the colors distributed across the top

For my design, I knew after viewing tons of online photos that I did not want a traditional setting with standard rows and columns. I also didn’t want to be sewing a boatload of stretchy little squares together. Instead, I put together a mosaic design starting with 10″ squares and adding squares and rectangles with dimensions in multiples of five. Ten inches just seemed like a good compromise between 8″ or 9″ and 12″, like  Goldilocks: not too big, not too small, juuuuust right!

The other thing I did was to keep the size on the smallish side, knowing that a mosaic of squares and rectangles could be enlarged without too much fuss.

Here is the design:

Size is 50" x 60". I omitted the color for now so you can get a good look at the design.

Size is 50″ x 60″. I omitted the color for now so you can get a good look at the design.

Leave a comment

Filed under sweater quilt

Leave a Reply

