A salad summer day

It is HOT today. At 6:00 p.m., the temperature was 90 degrees, down from 96 earlier in the day. I made this cool, fresh salad for dinner, found in Cooking Light’s Salad book.

Start with orecchiette pasta (described as “little ears” in the cookbook).

pasta

Great, but please, can we not describe food by associating it with body parts? I know the ear reference (orecchio) is contained in the name of the pasta, but how about one of these instead:

  • bowl-shaped
  • hat-shaped
  • dome-shaped
  • flying saucer-shaped (my favorite)

Just sayin’.

Add cooked lentils.

lentils

Next, add chopped fresh zucchini, yellow or red pepper, halved grape tomatoes,

veggies

and red onion.

onion

Season with fresh parsley,

parsley

fresh basil, thyme, oregano, salt and pepper.

basil thyme

Toss with a balsamic vinaigrette.

toss

Sprinkle with freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

parmesan

Yum! This recipe’s a do-again!

salad

2 Comments

Filed under home cookin'

2 responses to “A salad summer day

  1. Rhonda

    You will not believe this but I just pulled this same book from my shelf (that you gave me) this afternoon and was going to put this on my list of new recipes to try. I read your post after I perused through the book for something new to try. Now that you have tested it and are adding it to your “do-again” list I know I will have to try it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

