Breakfast or lunch?

After pacing for who-knows-how-long around the kitchen, Ross finally decided to eat lunch rather than breakfast. It’s a tough decision when your day doesn’t start until 11:30 in the morning.

Ross filled a pan with water, set it on the stove and turned on the burner. He poured elbow macaroni into a bowl and fetched a can of tomato sauce from the pantry. I got up to refill my water glass, and saw this:

macaroni

I said to him, “You do know this stuff doubles in size, right?”

He said, “Yeah, I know. I got this.”

(I. Got. This.: the three most terrifying words a teen can utter to a parent.)

I sighed and walked away. I returned later to see Ross at the kitchen table, hunched over a bowl containing five pounds of macaroni watching season 5 of Burn Notice on his iPod. Oh, the life of a teenage boy.

Ross's lunch

1 Comment

Filed under kids

One response to “Breakfast or lunch?

Leave a Reply

