Which quilt motifs?

I’ve been preparing to quilt my fall design.

fall

The pattern is done and needs a photo of the finished quilt for the cover—my biggest obstacle, as I choose to quilt my own projects. Last week I washed and ironed the backing:

fall backing

I’ve been playing with the Quiltmaker motif library in Electric Quilt and came up with these possibilities:

#1--While the motifs fill the spaces quite nicely, I'm not in love with the heart shape being formed in the star point units. Also, John thought it kind of looked like a mustache.

#1–While the motifs fill the spaces quite nicely, I’m not in love with the heart shape being formed in the star point units. Also, John thought it kind of looked like a mustache.

#2--This one has the same motif in the star's center as #1, but I filled the rest of the block with companion motifs from the same family, this one named Mulberry.

#2–This one has the same motif in the star’s center as #1, but I filled the rest of the block with companion motifs from the same family, this one named Mulberry.

#3--I really liked the motif in the flying geese units, again from the Mulberry family. In positioning them, they overlap to create an alternate design in the center of the star.

#3–I really liked the motif in the flying geese units, again from the Mulberry family. In positioning them, they overlap to create an alternate design in the center of the star.

#4--Here is a different set of motifs from the White Dove family.

#4–Here is a different set of motifs from the White Dove family.

#5--This one displays motifs from the Autumn Breeze family of motifs.

#5–This one displays motifs from the Autumn Breeze family of motifs.

#6--This is a variation of the option directly above. I kept the Autumn Breeze motifs in the corners and star points but substituted leaves from the Ivy League family in the star's center.

#6–This is a variation of the option directly above. I kept the Autumn Breeze motifs in the corners and star points but substituted leaves from the Ivy League family in the star’s center.

#7--Mulberry variation. I'm not convinced there's enough quilting to fill the space.

#7–Mulberry variation. I’m not convinced there’s enough quilting to fill the space.

#8--A better Mulberry variation in terms of enough quilting to fill the space.

#8–A better Mulberry variation in terms of enough quilting to fill the space.

#9--Love this motif, again from the Mulberry family, but it seems to awkwardly fill the space. I think the inner curved line runs too close to the seam lines of the star's center square.

#9–Love this motif, again from the Mulberry family, but it seems to awkwardly fill the space. I think the inner curved line runs too close to the seam lines of the star’s center square.

#10--One last motif from the Mulberry family--great motif, wrong application....

#10–One last motif from the Mulberry family–great motif, wrong application….

I would love some feedback on which one you like and why. Please feel free to leave a comment–thanks!

2 Comments

Filed under machine quilting

2 responses to “Which quilt motifs?

  1. Rhonda

    Oh the options – what is a girl to do…I really like the center in option #6 with the leaves reinforcing the corners and the quilt title. I like option #2 and #4 for the geese units. What are you thinking about for the diagonal sections between the maple leaves?

  2. I agree with you about the leaves in #6 and was strongly leaning toward that option. For the stripe section, I was going to quilt straight lines, which is why I chose all the curved options for the rest of the top. I still haven’t made up my mind, but appreciate your input–thanks!

Leave a Reply

