Mom’s (red) pink idea

I found this scrap of paper tucked between a bunch of stuff in the linen closet at my parents’ house.

paper

Thankfully, I was OCD enough to unfold it before tossing because it contained a sketch made by my mom of a quilt. The colorings in the scan of this image appear red and Mom’s notes at the bottom listed red/white fabric options, including a bit of black, but to the naked eye, the colorings look pink, which I  like better.

Mom's quilt design

I went through my pink fabrics and found some possible choices for this pattern:

My pink stash appears to be hideously large….

My pink stash appears to be hideously large….

I tried to find prints my mom referenced in both her sketch and her notes: dots, plaids/checks and flowers.

Then I drew it in Electric Quilt:

Is this too pink?

Is this too pink?

I’m certain the blocks can be strip pieced and cut with a triangle template to avoid dealing with all those trapezoidal shaped pieces so I’ll be trolling quilt cyber world to locate that technique. In the meantime, this pattern joins the gazillion others amassed in my EQ file drawer of quilts to make—now where’d I put that time machine?

1 Comment

Filed under Electric Quilt, fabric, Mom

One response to “Mom’s (red) pink idea

  1. Pink explosion! I quite like the pattern.

Leave a Reply

