Baby turns 17

Our youngest turns 17 today.

Here he was just a few days old in April 1996 in a rare state of calm:

Ross new

And here he is today with his birthday present: strap locks and a hard carrying case for his guitar.

Ross with birthday presents

Last year for his birthday, I made him this pillowcase:

pillowcase

It differs from the style that is so popular now because I could not find appropriate fabrics for a coordinating cuff and trim. After plowing through my stash several times, I could not find anything that looked right so I made it entirely from the guitar fabric and just machine hemmed the open end.

pillowcase hem

I also decided against the French seam, using an overcast stitch to enclose all the raw edges.

Because I don't own a serger, I used the #2 foot (Bernina) with a double overlock stitch to overcast the two seam allowances in the pillowcase.

Because I don’t own a serger, I used the #2 foot (Bernina) with a double overlock stitch to overcast the two seam allowances in the pillowcase.

The sewing machine manual recommends this stitch for knits and jersey fabrics, but I’ve used it successfully in the past on cotton fabrics.

Pillowcases are easy and fun, but one thing we run into at the shop is the occasional customer who is unaware that the print she’s buying is directional. As this was the case with the guitar print, I purchased enough to ensure that the large guitars would appear across the length of the pillowcase. I could not envision a pillowcase where they would appear like this:

pillowcase wrong print direction

Happy Birthday, Ross.

Leave a comment

Filed under fabric, kids

Leave a Reply

