The slow return to normal

I’ve been back from Iowa for almost a week now, but life has not yet returned to normal. For several reasons, the chain of events that typically follow the death of a loved one moved in hyper drive mode, so it was only after we returned home that I actually had time to think and process.

One thing I wanted to share with you was the quilt I made for my mom. Those are cake stand blocks done in all her favorite colors, many of them pastels: mint green, butter yellow, soft pinks and lavender (a nod to her mother’s favorite color).

Moms quilt at distance

I started the quilt in May 2006 when our family began noticing changes in Mom’s behavior. I wanted to give it to her before she forgot who I was. By August, I had pieced the top, layered, basted and partially ditch quilted it, but was forced to pack it up because we were preparing to move.

This is a close up of one of the setting squares. It's a Moda print from a long way back, but still lovely.

This is a close up of one of the setting squares. It’s a Moda print from a long way back, but still lovely.

I gave her the finished quilt when she visited the following summer, and it brought tears to her eyes when she opened it. I loved making it for her and giving it to her; it was a small thank you for all she had done for me in my life and I knew it would always be a special link between us.

Here's a close up of the larger floral print used for the border. It too, was a Moda fabric from the same collection as the one used for the setting squares.

Here’s a close up of the large floral print used for the border. It too, was a Moda fabric from the same collection as the one used for the setting squares.

I packed the quilt in my suitcase before returning home after the funeral. I haven’t decided whether to put it on a bed or to hang it, but through this quilt and my memories of her, my mom will always be with me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mom

Leave a Reply

