Heading south

I’m packing. Leavin’ on a jet plane. Time for my annual sojourn to our old neighborhood in Houston, Texas, where we lived for more than two decades. Looks to be a fun long weekend filled with wonderful friends, stimulating conversation, visits to quilt shops, lunch at great restaurants, and a nine-hour sewing marathon on Saturday.

I’m taking a cute, easy project called the Lawn Chair quilt. You can view it here.

Houston project

My version varies from the original in that I’ll be using double the prints (all batiks) and half the amount of white. My ultimate goal is to make one for each of us in the family in orange/white, blue/white, pink/white and green/white. Quilting will be super simple: in the ditch and some additional straight line quilting inside the blocks. Here’s the orange/white top:

orange lawn chair quilt

See you when I get back!

1 Comment

Filed under miscellaneous

One response to “Heading south

  1. Hanty Lena

    I love the reversal of fabrics in your “Lawn Chair Quilt”. It is beautiful and it looks more like a lawn chair- Ha! I must do the same!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

