Consequences of the YouTube tutorial vortex

I want to apologize for my first posts turning into such a snooze fest. I know there was a lot of nit-picky information in them and in the future, I’ll try not to clump so many of those types of posts back to back.

The reason I explained so much of the process for the baby quilt was that we talk to so many customers at the shop where I work who are discouraged about their unfinished quilts. Some are time pressed, but many are simply afraid of or overwhelmed by the marking and quilting process. Trust me, I so get that—I am no stranger to unfinished tops. I just wanted to put it out there that with a little patience, perseverance and determination, it can be done, especially if taken in small steps.

The story behind today’s post started last November when my friend sent me this link.

I promptly watched it, and by the time it was over, I was trapped in the YouTube quilting tutorial vortex and just had to click on this one.

I thought the project was so cute and would be an excellent way to chip away at the mountain of Christmas fabrics I’ve been collecting forever.

The tutorial featured something called a large wedge ruler, which, as I studied the video, was nothing more than a piece of plastic in the shape of an isosceles triangle with a height of 9″ and a base of 7″.

I drew an isosceles triangle block in EQ

isosceles triangle block

and fit it into a layout.

EQ first layout

I showed the layout to John and emailed it to my friend, my two best critics. Both of them recommended the addition of trunks to the half triangles on each end, which I did. I also widened the tree trunks from 1″ to 1½”. Here’s the layout:

EQ final layout

The other thing I changed was how I cut the triangles. In the video, one long side of the triangle ruler is aligned with the edge of the fabric piece, probably to maximize the number of triangles cut from the 10″ fabric square. Unfortunately, this leaves the base of the triangle with a bias edge and that’s a red flag for me. When I cut my triangles, the base was parallel to the straight grain of the fabric.

Then I printed the isosceles triangle block from EQ.

EQ paper template

I laid a sheet of template plastic over the paper pattern and traced the triangle with an ultra fine point permanent marker. Then I cut out the triangle with a pair of craft scissors.

plastic template

I know working with templates isn’t as fast as using a specialty ruler, but when your personality tilts toward control freak like mine, templates can be comforting to work with. I honestly don’t mind them occasionally, particularly for odd or unusual shapes like this triangle.

Here’s the table runner ready for quilting:

table runner

1 Comment

Filed under Electric Quilt, miscellaneous

One response to “Consequences of the YouTube tutorial vortex

  1. Joni

    So gosh darn cute!

Leave a Reply

